• Join
  • Login
  • BNA Twitter
  • BNA Facebook
  • 07:12:53 AEST
  • Wednesday, 16 October 2019
  • Gamble Responsibly 18+

Feature Races

Sports Expert Tipster Top 5

Chris Garry
Courier Mail
100 Pts $ 81.3
Wally Lewis
Channel 9
96 Pts $ 78.7
Paul Malone
Courier Mail
96 Pts $ 78.6
Peter Badel
Courier Mail
92 Pts $ 73.8
Darren Lock..
Channel 9
90 Pts $ 75.4
Full NRL Leaderboard
Eliza Sewell
Herald Sun
98 Pts $ 81.9
Tyson Goldsa..
Herald Sun
98 Pts $ 78.6
Bianca Chatf..
Herald Sun
96 Pts $ 74.7
Mick Malthou..
Herald Sun
96 Pts $ 74.2
Lauren Wood
Herald Sun
96 Pts $ 72.5
Full AFL Leaderboard

Top Horse Racing Tipsters

321% POT
185% POT
180% POT
110% POT
110% POT
Full Leaderboard
Stephen Rodg..
219% POT
Gary Harley
104% POT
Adam Cretten..
81% POT
Howard Walte..
49% POT
Phil Roberts
33% POT
Stephen Rodg.. 219% POT
Gary Harley 104% POT
Adam Cretten.. 81% POT
Howard Walte.. 49% POT
Shayne OCass 23% POT

Next Race to Jump

Ladbrokes Odds Boost
Ladbrokes - Back Yourself

Winx Stakes

Winx Stakes

Distance 1400m
Grade Group 1
Track  Royal Randwick
Prizemoney $500,000
Class WFA
2018 winner Winx ($1.26)

The Winx Stakes takes place in late August, making it the first Group One of the Spring Carnival. The race is officially registered as the Warwick Stakes, but in 2018 had its name changed to honour the mighty mare Winx. 

The race's inaugural running was back in 1923 at Warwick Farm racecourse in Sydney's south-west. Since then, the venue has consistently alternated between Warwick Farm and Royal Randwick, with Canterbury Park Racecourse also hosting a solo running in 2000. Since 2014, every edition has been held at Randwick.

In 2018, as well as having its name changed from the Warwick Stakes to the Winx Stakes, the race was given Group One status. In a fitting result, Winx greeted the judge, making it three years on the trot that she has saluted in the race.

However, it's not just Winx that has had phenomenal success in the race over the years. Both Limerick (1927-1929) and Kingston Town (1980-1982) have likewise won the race in three consecutive years. Other multiple winners include Sky High, Super Impose and Lonhro, while champion horses Amounis and Tulloch have also tasted victory in the race.

Through their association with not just Winx but the 2015 winner Royal Descent, Chris Waller and Hugh Bowman have claimed victory in the past four editions of the Winx Stakes. Both will be gunning for five straight this year to get their Spring Carnivals off to the perfect start.

2018 Winx Stakes

Not many horses get the privilege to have a race named after them while they are still competing. That's what happened to Winx, who repaid the favour by bolting in for a dominant victory last year.

Winx came widest around the turn, sacrificing ground to the runners along the rail. But as always, it didn't make a difference. She powered over the top of them late, with Invictus Prince and D'argento filling out the placings.

SHOWING: Best profit statistics for horse racing tipsters
  • Phone Support 1300 833 157
    Phone Support Hours
    Mon-Fri: 9am to 6pm
    Sat: 9am to 6pm
    Sun: 10am to 1pm
Copyright © 2019 S92 www.bettingnetworkaustralia.com.au
Stay in Control. For gambling help call 1800 858 858 or your local State gambling helpline, Gamblers Help, Mission Australia or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au.
Users must be at least 18 years old.